Home / news /

2017/18 U23s Exeter City PL Cup (h) Preview

2017/18 U23s Exeter City PL Cup (h) Preview

by ednext
in news
Comments are off for this post.

All you need to know ahead of this evening’s Premier League Cup Group Stage clash against Exeter City.

Fixture: Hull City U23s vs Exeter City U23s
Where: Eon Visual Media Stadium
When: Monday 23rd October 2017
Kick-Off: 7pm

The Tigers’ Development Squad kick-off their Premier League Group Stage campaign against Exeter City on home soil this evening.

Jon Beale’s side head into the tie high on confidence after stretching their unbeaten run in the Professional Development League to six games with last week’s 3-2 victory over Huddersfield Town.

Exeter booked their place in the group stage after coming from behind to beat Dagenham & Redbridge 2-1 last month. The Grecians had trailed at half-time, thanks to Elliot Romain’s first half header but a double from Matt Jay midway through the second period turned the game on its head.

Match updates from tonight’s game will be available via Twitter by following @Tigers_Academy, while a match report will be available on both www.hullcitytigers.com and www.hulltigersacademy.com.

Ticket Details: Admission to tonight’s game is FREE for all Members, with a charge of £4 adults and £2 concessions at the turnstiles for non-Members.

Premier League Cup: Format Explained
From 2016/17 the Premier League Cup replaced the Under-21 Premier League Cup, which was introduced in 2013/14 to enhance the competitiveness of the Professional Development Phase calendar with knockout football alongside the regular league campaign.

The cup competition is played in the UEFA Champions League style with 32 clubs in the main group stage, replacing the straight knockout in the U21 Premier League Cup.

Like Premier League 2, it will be contested between Under-23 teams, with each side allowed three over-age outfield players and a goalkeeper born before 1 January 1994. The format is as follows:

Qualifying Stage: With more than 32 clubs entering the 2017/18 competition, a qualifying knock-out stage took place between Category 3 and 4 clubs to determine who joins Category 1 and 2 sides in the Group stage.

Group Stage: The tournament has been split into eight groups of four clubs, with each team playing their opposing clubs home and away. The top two teams advance to the knockout stage.

Knockout Stage: The last 16, quarter-finals, semi-finals and final will all be one-off knockout ties. If the ties are level after 90 minutes, they go to extra-time and then penalties if the teams still can’t be separated.

2017/18 Premier League Cup Groups
Group A: Birmingham City, Derby County, Nottingham Forest, Middlesbrough
Group B: Blackburn Rovers, Cardiff City, Southampton, Watford
Group C: AFC Bournemouth, Bury, Norwich City, Wolverhampton Wanderers
Group D: Burnley, Colchester United, Newcastle United, Swansea City
Group E: Aston Villa, Ipswich Town, Sheffield United, West Bromwich Albion
Group F: Barnsley, Everton, Leicester City, Portsmouth
Group G: Bristol City, Charlton Athletic, Liverpool, Stoke City
Group H: Brighton & Hove Albion, Exeter City, Hull City, Sunderland


Share this article

Comments are closed.